Dakota Valley Choral Festival

Since 1978, ISD 196 high schools choral programs have joined forces for the production of a mini-major work with a professional orchestra and guest conductor.  As the school district grew in size, so did the festival.  It now features the Concert Choir from each of the four district high schools (Rosemount, Apple Valley, Eagan and Eastview) and the Dakota Valley Festival Children’s Choir.  Held in the Fall, the festival performs for a standing-room only audience at Shepherd of the Valley Lutheran Church in Apple Valley.

The following is a partial list of festival repertoire and guest conductors:

Gloria (Vivaldi)
Mass in G (Schubert)
Requiem (Faure)
Missa St. Johannes de Deo (Haydn)
Missa Brevis in F (Mozart)
Canticles of America (Rutter)
Coronation Mass (Mozart)
Lord Nelson Mass (Haydn)
Missa Brevis in C (Mozart)
Missa Festiva (Leavitt)
Magnificat (Pergolesi)
Gospel Mass (Ray)
Te Deum (Mozart)
Judus Maccabaeus (Handel)
Regina Coeli (Mozart)
Gloria (Rutter)
Five Hebrew Love Songs (Whitacre)

Dr. Robert Scholz
Richard Edstrom
Dwayne Jorgenson
Dr. Larry Fleming
Dr. Karle Erickson
Dr. Robert Berglund
Dr. Dale Warland
Dr. Olaf Malmin
Dr. Axel Theimer
Dr. Paul Brandvik
Paul Oakley
Dr. Anton Armstrong
Dr. Rene Clausen
Weston Noble
Dr. Christopher Cock
Dr. James Rodde
Dr. David Dickau
Dr. Lawrence Burnett
Dr. Gary Schwartzhoff
Dr. Larry Bach
Dr. Timothy Peter
Sigrid Johnson
Dr. Eph Ehly
Dr. Karen Kennedy
Dr. Lee Nelson
Dr. Edith Copley
Dr. Matthew Mehaffey
Dr. Angela Broeker
Dr. Brandon Dean
Dr. Jeffrey Douma
Dr. Christopher Aspaas
Tesfa Wondemagegnehu